Scrambled Zucchini Eggs

Some of my favorite foods and recipes are breakfast dishes. I mean don’t get me wrong I do love lunch and dinner but there is just something about breakfast. Thanksgiving week was always hectic for me because I am always cooking and shopping for 2 or 3 days straight. Today was not like that. I was invited to someone else’s house for dinner, so the prep and all that cooking I didn’t do this year. I actually missed the chaos and hectic schedule that comes with the holiday. So feeling out of sorts because of the different plans this year for breakfast, I had some zucchini and red potatoes on hand so I decided to make roasted red potatoes and scrambled eggs with zucchini. The dish was so simple I was amazed at the amount of flavor. Enjoy!
 

Scrambled Zucchini Eggs
Created on November 23, 2011

Click on image to see larger picture

 This recipe is for 2 people

 4 eggs

¾ cup of grated Parmesan cheese

1 tablespoon butter

1 cup of zucchini (shredded) this is about ½ of a very large zucchini

Fresh cracked pepper

 Crack eggs into a small bowl and beat well with a fork. Shred the zucchini and the Parmesan cheese. Melt the butter in a 10” sauté pan over medium heat and add the shredded zucchini to the melted butter. Sauté for a good 5 minutes until the extra water from the zucchini is evaporated from the heat. Add the beaten eggs and continuously stir over medium heat until the eggs are cooked. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese on the eggs and stir a couple of times until the cheese is melted. Serve with roasted potatoes (click here to see recipe) or toasted whole grain bread. You could also substitute the eggs with tofu. The results are the same.

CLICK HERE TO PRINT THE RECIPE

One Response

Leave a comment